Super car Showdown (1 of 2)

This is going to be my first instalment of my time at Beaulieu Motor Museum during their ‘super car showdown event’ on Monday 25th of August. I shall upload the second part of this post over the weekend to make this all slightly easier to digest.

The day was essentially broken up in to two parts – all through the morning until lunch time hundreds of unbelievably gorgeous cars were parked for the public to come and look at and almost be in touching distance of, and later on most of the cars did runs down a 300 meter straight.

Despite the horrendous weather, the rain and wind would not be enough to dampen my spirits when in the presence of simply sublime motor vehicles; Lamborghini’s, Ferrari’s, Aston Martins’, Mclaren’s, a Veyron and so many more amazing machines were presented in front of me. I walk through Beaulieu’s entrance and instantly see in the distance a Bugatti Veyron accompanied alongside a Mercedes SLS, a BMW i8 and a Gumpert Apollo and instantly knew that I would witness some truly magnificent cars. Another meeting with the world famous Veyron was already a blessing in itself considering only last week when I first encountered the 1000 horse power mega car, I was sure that it also would be my last time. News, pictures and videos of the i8 have been circulating the internet countless times in the past few months so it really was fantastic to meet the potential car of the future in person.

DSC_0227
BMW i8 at the motor show

DSC_0228

After looking around the hugely impressive array of cars for the first ten minutes of being there, my eyes stumbled upon one of the most beautiful, elegant and impressive machines I have seen. Threw a dense crowd of people I managed to catch a glimpse of the £1,000,000 La Ferrari. It really is an impossibly pretty car and I never once thought I would be lucky enough to see one. The 950 bhp semi hybrid car is set to compete against the likes of the Mclaren P1 and the Porsche 918 concept and was one of the biggest head turners at the event. 

DSC_0254 DSC_0255

There were also some other amazing cars that wouldn’t quite but as much of a dent in your savings. Super cars such as the Audi R8 V10, an Aston Martin DBS and countless 911’s and all their variations attracted strong attention from thousands of people. All of them were also extremely beautiful and it was amazing to get up close and personal with these mesmerising machines.

The people running the event then told the crowd to clear a space as about 15 Lamborghini’s are coming through, not something you hear every day, so I rushed to get the best spot I could to watch the entrance of one of my favourite car manufacturers. Gorgeous Gallardo’s and Murcielago’s and even an unexpected Huracan came through, all equally as exquisite as each other. But then an Aventador, one of my favourite cars of all time came through and I could not believe my luck. Photos and videos do not at all do the Aventador justice compared to seeing it face to face. Possibly the most aggressive and intimidating car to have ever existed but at the same time looking beautiful and elegant makes the Aventador an inspiring work of art. Lamborghini have been known to be more outlandish than the Ferrari’s and Mclaren’s of this world but have been criticised in the past decade or so with the styling of models such as the Gallardo for not being stereotypically Lamborghini-esq. with much of the blame being pointed towards Audi, the owners of Lamborghini. But with the Aventador the Italians are back to their old ways of opulent insanity.

DSC_0296DSC_0299

DSC_0327DSC_0334 

If you’ve taken the time to read this thank you very much and will post the second instalment within the next few days. Any feedback is greatly appreciated and so is any time taken to read my other posts.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment